About the Association of Law Teachers


Who are we?

The current Chair of the Association is Rebecca Huxley-Binns, Professor of Legal Education at Nottingham Law School. The Vice-Chair is Chris Ashford, Professor at the University of Northumbria. The Association's Honorary President is the Rt Hon Lord Justice Jacob. The Honorary Vice-Presidents are Professor Richard Card and Professor Patricia Leighton. The ALT elects a Committee, which represents the interests of the membership and you can find out a little more about us here. Elections for vacant positions take place at the annual conference. Nomination forms are available from the secretary and can be downloaded here.

What do we do?

The ALT publishes a regular  email newsletter and a refereed journal, the Law Teacher: The International Journal of Legal Education. ALT members receive copies of these as part of the membership package. It also contributes to research into legal education via the Legal Education Research Network (LERN). Updates on current activities and other news of interest to members is distributed via the ALT's electronic mailing list. The ALT organises a comprehensive events programme, consisting of an annual conference, the anual Lord Upjohn Lecture and regular one day conferences on current issues. The ALT is represented on a variety of organisations involved in, or exercising an influence over, legal education, including the major professional and examining bodies. The Committee monitors developments which may have an impact upon legal education and, together with other organisations pursuing similar interests, represents the views of those involved in legal education.


Chair: Rebecca Huxley-Binns, Nottingham Law School

Vice- Chair and Deputy Editor of the Law Teacher: Chris Ashford, University of Northumbria

Treasurer: Chris Gale, Bradford University Law School

Honorary Secretary: Michael Jefferson, University of Sheffield

Membership Secretary and Bulletin Editor: Jessica Guth, Bradford University Law School

Editor of the Law Teacher: Nigel Duncan, City Law School

Director LERN: Patricia Leighton

Other Committee Members: Alison Bone, Brighton Business School; Hugo De Rijke, University of Plymouth; Penny English, Anglia Ruskin University; Amanda Fancourt, City Law School; Robert Hiscocks, BPP Law School; John Hodgson, Nottingham Law School;  Helen James, University of Winchester; Chris Maguire BPP Law School, Richard Owen, University of South Wales, Daniel Rahnavard - Manchester Metropolitan University

How do I join?

Membership of the ALT costs £30 per year, paybale annually in January. To join please complete the membership form available here

ALT Key Documents

Here you can access key documents such as the ALT's constitution, nomination forms, committee reports, accounts and any other documents relating to the running of the ALT... Read More

© The Association of Law Teachers 2014